Generic Movie Post #1

Somehow I always end up watching some strange movies. Recently, I was fortunate enough to come across some real gems. Easy Rider is a movie I’ve seen a couple times and it is a real classic. A relatively inexpensive movie to make that bridged the mainstream/indie gap in 1969. I strongly suggest it. Peter Fonda, Dennis Hopper, and Jack Nicholson. Of course it’s great!!!

A few nights ago I saw the original 1973 British version of Wicker Man. It is a pretty twisted tale about a police detective looking for a missing girl from a mysterious, headonistic island. It is  worth watching. Their was a great independence in filmaking during the 60s and 70s(as in popular music) that seems very refreshing to me.

Another cool movie I recently saw was called, Faster, Pussycat! Kill! Kill. It was made in 1965 and it seems like it may have been a movie that stirred things up at the time. The first thing I thought about from the first five minutes of this movie was how it may have inspired Quentin Tarantino. His movies seem to be revamped versions of this one. In fact, I heard he is currently making his own version of the film. This movies got the quirky music,  the  clever dialogue, and badass female characters. Overall, this is a real sweet movie that gives a reference point of influence that is still acknowledged by comtemporary moviemakers.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment